indexolderguestbookprofileemail old news


2001-01-29 13:38:32

I always wish upon the first star I see. I�m not superstitious. I�m just grasping on to that last hope that wishes actually do come true. I�m not sure that they do. So, to keep my faith in the star, I make my wish so vague that it couldn�t possible not come true. Sort of like horoscopes, I guess. The spectrum they cover is so vast that it�s bound to be true. But, last night I wished upon a star. It was a beautiful star, sitting just beside the crescent moon. So I wished. Keep your fingers crossed.

On a lighter note, I got my hair cut last night. Sue cut it for me. I�m glad I�m not a super-freak when it comes to my hair, because part way through the hair cut she says, �You know, I think there�s a reason why people go to school for this.� My response was, �Just remember, I�m cutting your hair next.� However, despite our lack of experience, our heads survived the ordeal. My hair�s a bit too short, but hair grows. Sue�s is a bit uneven, but it�s curly, so you can�t tell. Anyone need a hair cut? I�ll do for the bargain price of $5! You can�t beat that.

I was driving Sue to school this morning, and anyone watching us get ready in the morning would realize what an ordeal this is. Alarms buzzing in every corner, nasty swear words, teas which are only half consumed, or still steeping. It�s a mess. Driving to school, we were trying to find a song on the radio and all the stations were sucking, so we put on the classical music. Mozart was on. We were talking about what kind of mind people have to have to be able to write something so complex. Sue made a comment, which while in jest and was amusing, struck me as a problem we have as people. She said, �Back then, people had all that going on in their minds, and all I have is negative self-talk.� It seems a lot of people (me included) suffer from this. I�m wondering, if we scoot out all that negativity, what sort of creative endeavour could we produce? I know I�m so much more productive when I�m cheery, but all the negativity seems to be drawn mostly by myself. I�m the one who puts me down. I know I have good qualities. I know I have the ability to do more with my life, but often I don�t do anything because I convince myself I can�t.

Okay, to something cheerful again... I just got off the phone with Colin James. I love him. I�ve loved him since the first time I heard him, way back in �88. So, as you could well imagine, I was quite nervous about this interview. Not only because I�m a slobbering fan, but also because people�s personalities mean a lot to me, and if I don�t like them in the interview, I tend not to like their music any more. However, after having a chat with him, I have officially inducted him into my �Super-cool, nice guy� category, which he shares with Edwin. Edwin was a fantastic interview too, albeit, it was almost a year ago that I talked to him. It still rocked.

Hmm... this is an entry of lots of odds and ends. Oh well. Best be going and actually work now.


previous next