indexolderguestbookprofileemail old news


2001-02-20 8:32:58

Last night was Fun. Yes, Fun with a capital F. It was Fun-tastic, Fun-a-lishious and Fun-abulous. Let�s see, where to start. Well, I�ll start with right after work (a time I really like). Lately, I�ve been thinking about strengthening my upper body (arms and such). So, after work yesterday I pop in Sue�s Aerobic Boxing (yes, I know, boxercising is a boxing cop-out, but let�s face it, I�m no boxer). Well, it was fun. I couldn�t keep up for the life of me, but I decided I defiantly like punching. Well, I punched and stuff for about 45 minutes. I didn�t notice how much time had passed because I was having fun fighting the air. The only reason I did stop was because I realized my arms were in pain. Pain or not, I still plan on doing it again tonight!

So then, I decided to make dinner. So I did. It was possibly the best meal I�ve ever made. It was Pineapple Pork, however I think that that name is too small for the amount of work that goes into it, so I�ve renamed it: Stir-fry sweet and sour pineapple pork with vegetables. That shows a bit more of what went into it. Yum. It was good.

After dinner, Sue starts in on her Mike�s Hard drinks. Sue�s boozing it up because we�re broke and were going to the bar for the Colin James concert. We had to go back to my work first, where Sue continued with her Mike�s. Then, off to the show. Well, we get there about nine, and the parking lot is already completely packed. I ended up having to park quite illegally in a nearby coffee shop�s lot. Oops!

We go into the bar and are, of course, stopped by security. �Ticket,� cute bouncer asked. �I�m on the list,� I said. Do you know how cool that is to say? Super cool, that�s how cool it is. So, we go into The List line-up. I give the lady my ID and she looks for my name on the sheet marked VIP (cool). She looks and looks and looks. Not there. This is a bit upsetting as I faxed the lady that morning and had my contact at the record company call me that morning and assured my I would be on The List.

Well, turns out that Sue was on The List and I was not. This strikes me as odd as I told the lady that I was reviewing and Sue was the photographer. The lady I faxed that day came up to �help� us. She was very rude. She said that Sue was the only one that was supposed to be here. Umm, no. So I told her, politely, that I was the one who faxed her and I was the one who worked at the paper, while Sue was the photographer, not the reviewer. The lady said in a snotty tone, �No, that�s not what I was told.�

Well, I don�t know what lady was on and why she was being so rude, so I not quite as politely as before said that I was the one who faxed her, so I know what the fax said, plus the guy from Warner said he�s put me on The List. Snotty lady said, �Well, if you faxed me, what did it say.� So I told her. Almost word-for-word (I didn�t remember to memorize the fax before going to the concert). She said she�d be back, and snapped around and went to her office (I�m guessing). She came back about five minutes later all smiles and said, �Okay, you can go in.� I smiled and said thanks.

I won�t go into details about the guy (who looked a lot like Luigi from Mario Bros) who was very rude to Sue and I. I�ll just say that I was tempted to try out my newly-acquired boxing skills on him. I didn�t, because I�m polite, but also because I�m sure that no matter how many punches I threw into the air that day, I was not quite up to fighting this guy. I�m sure that hitting him would be a slight bit different than hitting air. I dunno. Maybe I was just being a wimp.

Okay, so the concert starts (after a depressing folk musician opened) and Sue and I move right up to the stage. Not just by the stage or near the stage, but I was right up against it. It was off to the side a bit too, so not so many people were around me, which made me very happy. So, to sum up the fantastic concert in as few a words as I can, my night was made complete by awesome music, eye contact with Colin James, his feet almost stepping on my hands and having a blast. During his first encore he cut his thumb (badly) but he continued to play, albeit with some difficulty and a towel to blot the blood onto. He played three more songs with his poor thumb. It didn�t stop bleeding as I could see it building up on his guitars. Then, as I�m dancing and Colin (he and I are on a first name basis) is about a foot-and-a-half in front of me, I feel a little hit on my chest. I�m not close enough to others to have anyone groping me, so I look down and see that I managed (obviously unintentionally) to catch his guitar pick with, well to put it politely, with my boobs. Who�d a thunk! It was a bit gross with his injury and all, but I was pretty happy with this little catch! I�d have given it back, but he�s already gone back to the centre of the stage. Yay, Colin James souvenir!

So that was my sweet night. Today I�m hurting from boxercising and dancing all night, plus my left ear is still ringing. A lot. I�m hoping there�s no permanent damage done. Oops.

I just added a new feature to my site. It's on the left. Ya, the headlines. Let me know what you think. I kinda thought it may be interesting, but if it turns out to be just annoying, let me know. Thanks.


previous next