indexolderguestbookprofileemail old news


2002-08-28 10:41 a.m.

I read something today which made me very sad, solemn and wanting to lead a better, more positive life. I�m not entirely sure how to make my life more meaningful, but I�m certainly going to take a deep look at that. In fact, tonight I�m going to go sit where there is the most spectacular view of Lake Superior and re-prioritize things.

Hmm� re-reading that I think that maybe this is just something that has been brewing in me and has taken this story, and the impending death of a family member, to jolt something in me. The reason this occurred to me is that the other day I carved out a $100 cheque for cancer research. That�s not really like me, even if there is a lottery involved. It�s not that I don�t give to charity, it�s just that I�d rather volunteer than give money. But with my mom getting Osteoporosis, my dad with his diabetes and my aunt with cancer, I�ve been starting to feel that my friends and family are not going to live forever, and neither am I. I want to be able to say I did something important with my life. I�m 25, I better start finding this something.

So, that�s what Lake Superior is going to help me do tonight. I can�t really think of anything more than volunteering my skills, which is very much needed nowadays. (Apparently that really is one word. I don't think I�ve ever written that out before.) Now I need to think out the where and when.

I already volunteer for Crimestoppers (they wouldn�t let me be a fashion police officer, but they do let me sell raffle tickets). But, that happens only a few times a year. I think I can do something more and with my writing and layout skills. I just don�t know what. Any ideas are welcome.




previous next