indexolderguestbookprofileemail old news


2002-09-11 2:25 p.m.

I witnessed something hideously disgusting the other day. I was in a grocery store waiting in line. Ahead of me was a mother and her two children � about 4 and 9. They were doing the general grocery-store-I-wanna-bug-everyone-in-earshot whine, which I could ignore. Then their little eyes set on the chocolate bar. Out of boredom, I listened to them beg their mother for the candy, and listened to her snap back at them. So they took the candy and placed it on the counter. The mother put it back. They took it again and put it on the counter. It took the mom a couple of moments to see it there, and then she started to yell at her kids and put the candy back. The mother took the groceries and started to walk away. The 9-year-old then took the chocolate bar and followed her mom, the 4-year-old copied her sister. The cashier looked at us and said, �Did they just steal those?� A moment later, the mother came back with the kids and bought the chocolate bars.

She then gave them to the kids.

What a wonderful lesson to learn: steal something and you get rewarded. Nice.




previous next