indexolderguestbookprofileemail old news


2003-04-09 9:41 a.m.

Wow, I have had my feelings hurt in a long time. You know, I�ve been mad, upset and angry because of people, but I haven�t wanted to cry because of something that someone said. But right now, I�m really hurt.

Today I wore a pair of dress black pants (I wear black dress pants often) and a blouse, because it�s getting warmer out. Normally I wear dress pants and a nice sweater, very expensive work-style sweaters, because it has been cold lately. I have worn jeans and a sweater once, because it was dress down day.

So my boss says to me, �You look nice today.� I say, �Thanks.� I realized that I am wearing a particularly nice blouse. She says, �You should dress like that all the time. You�re a Communications Officer and I think you should look the part. You need to look professional. Try to dress well from now on.� So, apparently, ALL my other items of clothing are not appropriate. Apparently, I don�t look professional. Apparently, I normally look like a slob at work. Thanks, boss lady, now I�m going to feel even more self-conscious. I appreciate that.

She�s said to me before, �You�re a good writer, but I want you to be a great writer.� Fine, I can take that as constructive criticism and not a dig.

She�s said to me: �Oh, this (insert person who applied for my job but didn�t take it here) is a wonderful writer, do you think you could read some of her work?� Okay, again, I�ll ignore the dig.

She�s said to me: �This girl (same as above) is so talented.� Ignoring it.

She�s said to me: �Now that you�re on full-time, everyone will be watching to see how you perform, so you should do better than your best.� Getting harder to ignore.

Now I�m a slob. This is starting to get personal.

I was having a good day up �till now.




previous next