indexolderguestbookprofileemail old news


2003-07-29 9:49 a.m.

It�s only 9:19 a.m., and where to begin on my day? Well, let�s start with about 3 a.m. Okay, let�s start with a general backgrounder:

I sleep on my stomach. I don�t know why, I just like it that way. I pull the blankets up to my face with my left arm. This means that I sleep with my left arm bent for most of the night. Lately (as in the past few months), I�ve occasionally woken up to a stiff, very sore left elbow. I could hardly make it straight. Also, when I lift weights with that arm, it often locks and I have to drop the weight... not good. So, I�ve been trying to sleep with my arm straight. Not an easy thing, since I believe my arm bends up naturally in my sleep.

So, at 3 a.m. I woke up with what would best be described as excruciating pain in my left elbow (the pain nicely shoots up my arm too). Not only could I not straighten it, but I didn�t want to move, it hurt so much. I eventually go it straight and tucked it under my blankets so it would stay that way.

4 a.m., same thing. Bent arm, lots of pain. I tucked that baby in tighter.

5 a.m. same thing. So, I got up. It still hurts, and I think I need some better ideas on how to stop this. Any ideas? I was thinking a tensor bandage, but I bet I can bend through that. As a six-year-old I had an eye operation (actually a few of them, but that�s not the story right now), and they put those sticks in my sleeve so I wouldn�t rub my eyes. I broke those damn sticks and rubbed away. So, I know I�m pretty stubborn when I want to bend my arms!

But, that�s not where the crap of my day ends. Oh no! That�s just the start.

I went out for a run. That was fine. I did well, lots of hills, five kilometers, all good!

I get home, take a shower, and try to find something to wear. All my pants were either dirty or wrinkled. I really didn�t want to wear a skirt, so I thought, �You know, Marla, I bet you could just iron those pants. Lots of people iron. You own an iron. Time to try it out!�

So, all proud of my new-found domestic side, I pull out my pants and my iron. You�d think I�d try this ironing out on a less nice pair of pants. But no, I wanted to wear those pants. So, I fill my iron up with water (for the steam and such, see, I knew what I was doing), plugged it in, put my pants on a flat, non-burnable surface, read the instructions both on my pant label (setting) and on the iron itself, and I set out to iron.

I pulled that iron across my pants and it seemed to make it more wrinkled. Weird, I thought. I did it again, and again, it looked more wrinkled. So I pulled it tight, so as to reduce the wrinkles, and started to iron again. Then, to my horror, I saw what was going on. It wasn�t wrinkling it more, it was melting them, thereby making them look like more wrinkled. However, with my pants so nice and tight, it didn�t just make the look weird, I burnt a hole right through.

So, those nice pants? Not so nice. What am I wearing? A skirt.

Okay, so then I was walking to work, in my skirt, and my glasses were dirty. So, as I always to, I took them off and used my shirt to clean them. Well, my shirt was a little jacket which is crocheted. The little nose pads on my glasses got caught in my sweater and I didn�t notice. So, as I brought them back to my face I both ripped my sweater and bent my glasses way out of shape.

Nice day so far, eh?




previous next