indexolderguestbookprofileemail old news


2003-10-16 8:41 a.m.

I am an idiot.

Okay, my friend, we'll just call her Michelle for simplicity's sake, called me at 5:30 a.m. to go running. Half of me wanted to stay in bed, because I couldn't fall asleep until after midnight and then was up again at 3:45 until 4:45. So, I got about 4.5 hours of sleep. However, I was actually feeling okay, so decided that I would run and try to sleep in tomorrow.

Got up, got ready, went out and ran. It was a good run, albeit rather cold. Got back to my place, Michelle and I stretched, then she handed me my keys (her running pants have pockets, mine don�t). Ya, you guessed it. Wrong keys. I pitched them across my porch. Yup. I was so locked out. And, of course, Michelle had her keys in my place.

So, we walked to a corner store, called her husband so he would unlock their door for us, and then walked to her place.

She was kind enough to give me breakfast and a change of clothing. I showered, changed (of course, I am not work-appropriate today) and Michelle drove me to work. So here I sit. Cold. Dressed in non-work clothing. Still locked out of my apartment. I will have to go meet my landlord at noon and change then.

So, my day's off to a great start.

And to think, I had a wicked story about yesterday I wanted to share with you. Instead, you get to hear the "Marla's an idiot" story again. Oh well, I'll post the good story later.

There are three morals to this story. 1) Always make sure you have the right keys with you 2) Everyone should have a friend like Michelle (who, by the way, also packed me snacks and a lunch) 3) If half of you wants to stay in bed, there's probably a damn good reason why, so don't argue, just sleep.


previous next