indexolderguestbookprofileemail old news


2004-01-09 11:08 a.m.

When I was in Toronto, Sarah lent me the first three Harry Potter books, being as I hadn�t read them nor seen the movies. So, I read them up quickly. Enjoying them, I decided to go to the book store to get the fourth one. I looked and looked. Couldn�t find it. I checked youth, teen, general fiction, fantasy, even sci fi. I got quite frustrated. The computer said it was in the story, but I couldn�t figure out where. You�d think youth, wouldn�t you? Well, here�s the conversation I had with the book store guy:

Me: �Hi. Where can I find the paperback of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire?�

Book Store Guy: �It�s in the Harry Potter section.�

M: �Oh, that makes sense. Where�s that?�

BSG: �That�s in the children�s section.�

M: �Right then. The children�s section. I�ll just go there, then.�

And so I went, competing with little people who are as tall as my jeans to get to the Harry Potter section, which, I must say, was really quite impressive. If only it weren�t in the children�s section. Why couldn�t it be in a section that didn�t say �Ages 12 and under?�

However, I�m not too proud to admit that I am reading a book which the publishers think is for children ages 12 and under. Oh well, this just makes me child-like, not childish. Right?




previous next