indexolderguestbookprofileemail old news


2004-02-24 12:42 p.m.

You know, anybody who spends any time here will notice my lack of political commentary � I tend to share my opinions when I�ve had time to formulate them, and also when asked. However, this just bothered me. In case you don�t feel like visiting the link, here�s a snippet: President Bush endorsed a constitutional amendment on Tuesday that would ban gay marriage as he seized the initiative in a contentious issue that could energize his conservative base for the November election. ... "If we are to prevent the meaning of marriage from being changed forever, our nation must enact a constitutional amendment to protect marriage in America," Bush said.

Why shouldn�t we change the meaning of marriage? Things have changed, progressed, social norms are different then when marriage was defined in constitutions. also believe two people can share a life time of love and not get married, while others may marry and end up staying in a horrid relationship because of words said without meaning. Marriage has changed and love is more open, therefore we need to look at what constitutes a marriage now. I

Marriage is love.

We have no right to get involved in the love life of others � Who has the right to say what defines love?

I'm rambling now, another reason why I don't touch political issues. However, I just feel that it's wrong. Love really is love. Just be happy with the person you love!


previous next