indexolderguestbookprofileemail old news


2004-07-09 9:36 a.m.

It must be a Friday thing.

Last Friday I came in to the office and there was a weird bottle on my desk. It looked like an oil bottle. So, I picked it up, read it, and realized it was the toner for our photocopier. I looked from the bottle to the �copier. I really thought they would put it in the machine for me, but I guessed it wasn�t that difficult a job.

So, I open the machine up, read the instructions, turned the �copier around trying to find "door number 2" on it. I finally found the toner compartment. I then had to put the bottle on the compartment trap door and open it. So I did. I couldn�t tell what was going on with that stuff, so I waited a bit then pulled the bottle off. Ya, that�s right, it wasn�t done yet. Being as this was my first time working with toner, I really didn�t know what it was. I do now. It�s black powder. Black powder which, when pulled suddenly out of its spot, flies all over my desk, all over my wall, and all over me. Yup, my arms, neck, and face were covered with black powder.

Later that day... I was trail running with my friend. I was tired and falling a bit behind, but that was okay. Everything about that run felt like a struggle. Needless to say, I wasn�t paying attention. That�s not a good idea on the trails. Of course we all know where this is leading � one minute I�m running, the next I�m sliding. I don�t remember the trip to the ground, but I remember thinking "I didn�t scream. Michelle has no idea I�ve fallen. What if I�m really hurt and need her help out." So I called for her. However, she knew I was down. She said, "I heard your feet in rhythm behind mine, then I heard just mine. It was rather strange." So, I was okay, but my knee was badly bruised. We cut the run short and went for a latte instead!

Fast forward to today

My hand hurts. I burnt it last night making cookies as part of my fundraiser. Of course, anyone who knows me knows that I�m not keen on cooking or baking. However, I was having an okay time doing what I was doing. But, I managed to burn myself. From the top of my left index finger to the base of my thumb. It's not badly burnt, but enough to be causing me discomfort and making simple things a bit more complicated. Take brushing your hair for example:

I was brushing my hair this morning, as I do most mornings. Somehow this daily task that I�ve been doing for a number of years became somewhat difficult. I kept fumbling with the brush. On one of these fumbles, the brush catches on to my glasses, which go flying from my face. I tried to catch them. I whacked my good hand into the wall trying to catch them. They bounced of this hand and landed... in the toilet. Ya, I was not happy about this. Of course they sank not only to the bottom, but a bit down the pipey thingy. I wasn�t pleased about having to fish them out. Especially when I was already running late.

Fantastic.




previous next