indexolderguestbookprofileemail old news


2004-11-07 1:34 p.m.

Hi. I�m back. I haven�t written here yet because I�ve been way too tired to get through work, let alone write in my diary. Holy jetlag Batman!

My trip varied slightly from what I posted before I left, but here it is in a nutshell:

-- Friday morning: Left at 7 a.m. and drove (was a passenger, actually) the 8 hours to Winnipeg. Sat around the airport nervous. Started to feel really sick. Went to the bathroom. Was really sick. Sat around some more. Started to feel so very sick. I was worried I wouldn�t make the flight. Went back to the bathroom. Got sick again. My friend who was going on the trip with me called her boyfriend, who is a doctor, to see if I could take some other medication to calm my stomach down (I was already on prescription meds for my really bad cold). He said yes, so I took �em. Still felt sick, but I survived the flight to Toronto without being sick.

-- 10:30 p.m. Got on the plane from TO to London. Was really nervous, but had taken so many meds already I didn�t want to take one of my tranquilizers. Didn�t want to over do it. However, I held that bottle in my hand like it was my lifeline. A really crappy movie was played then the lights went out for everyone to go to sleep. Ya, that didn�t happen. I was up the entire flight. I had no idea that it would be that dry on the plane. The flight attendant kept bringing me water. I needed eye drops � every time I blinked I thought I was scratching my eyes. It was horrible.

-- 11 a.m. London time we landed. We had to go through UK customs. Not too difficult. Security in the UK seems to be more lax than in Canada. And, by that time I�d been awake for 26 hours, so I was glad for the fast moving lines. We walked for about five hours to get to our gate at Heathrow (okay, it was more like 20 minutes, but it felt like 5 hours). Then we waited for a couple of hours in an overly hot airport waiting for our flight, which was delayed.

-- 2:30 p.m. Finally get on the flight. Started to fall asleep, then we went to take off. The panic kicked in, and I was awake. Then we got level in the air, and I started to drift again. Then the pain kicked in, as the flight attendant drove the food cart straight into my leg. Freakin� hurt like hell. So, I was awake for the rest of the flight.

-- 3:30 p.m. Landed in Dublin, went through Dublin customs, again super easy compared with Canadian customs. Waited for our luggage, then sat on a bus for a while before we headed for our hotel. I was so tired and confused that just looking at how the streets were set up and how the buildings are all attached and the tones of people, I was positive I�d never be able to walk the streets without freaking out.

-- 5:30 p.m. Made it to the hotel. We had a welcome dinner, then we were invited out to the bar. Being as it was a million years since I last slept, I declined and went to bed. Slept for an amazing 13 hours.

SUNDAY

-- Sunday morning I was still feeling rough, but a group of Team Diabetes people were going for a 3k run, so I decided to go. Wasn�t too bad, and felt a bit better about getting around in the city.

-- Sunday afternoon I walked around the area, but got lost and found crossing the streets insane. Finally made it back to my hotel in time for the pasta dinner. After the dinner, I got horribly sick again. Had to take more anti-sick medications.

-- Sunday night went to be at about 10 p.m. At 11 p.m. the pubs started to empty and the singing people in the streets woke me up.

MONDAY

-- Was awake until 3 a.m. Slept until 5 a.m. and was up again. Went for breakfast and worried about the run. I had been sick, and had super little sleep. Fun.

-- Monday was the insane run (See photo )
I may look like I�m smiling, but I�m probably going crazy at that time. It was the super-hardest thing I�ve ever done. I started to feel sick at mile 7, and by mile 11 I thought I was going to pass out. I took a break from mile 12 to just before 13 (wanted to run past the half-marathon mark). I found a long down hill area at mile 14, so though �hey, I can run down a hill� and managed to keep going from there. But it was the hardest thing ever.

-- I managed to cross the finish 5 hours after my start

-- Monday night victory party -- free Guinness and wine. Then we went to The Temple Bar in the Temple Bar area and we drank more Guinness . Then we took a cab back to our hotel because we were too drunk.

TUESDAY
-- Tuesday to sore to move, but had to anyway. Went from our $277 Cnd a night hotel to a $50 a night hostel � which had a broken elevator, so had to climb up 54 stairs to my room. Went out that night to a pub. Had more Guinness .

WEDNESDAY

-- Wednesday did museums, art galleries, and parks. There were lots and lots of stairs. I noticed every single one.
� Wednesday night, more Guinness.

THURSDAY
-- Thursday morning I went to the town of Howth. It was beautiful. I spent hours there walking and taking photos. Once I get my gold membership, I�ll share the photos. It was super windy, and I was soaked from the spray from Dublin Bay.
� Thursday late afternoon I took a tour of Dublin Castle and went shopping, then went out for Guinness.

FRIDAY
-- Friday, Guinness Storehouse tour, then they give you a free Guinness at their bar (freshest Guinness in the world). Bought another beer (cheapest Guinness in the world), and was quite tipsy after that. Then went out for dinner (had Guinness), then we went out some friends of one of the girls I was travelling with. They are working in Dublin. Of course, we went to some pubs. Had Guinness. Then some Irish guy was chatting with me, he bought me Guinness. I went back to the hostel rather drunk.

SATURDAY
-- Saturday we went on a bus tour of Dublin and the Dublin country side. We went for a hike and then going back on the bus the drive gave us a shot of whiskey (he said it was too cold for us and we should have a shot to keep our health). Then we went to a pub for lunch (Guinness). At night, we packed, then went out for dinner (Guinness). That tour was also super beautiful. It was amazing.

SUNDAY
5 a.m. Woke up and got ready to leave.
6:30 a.m. was at the airport.
9 a.m. took off for London.
10 a.m. had to wait for hours in Heathrow, though it wasn�t too bad. Was more like a shopping mall with flight information. I can handle that.
2 p.m. Got on the plane. There were a lot of planes taking off, and you could see one plane take off and another one get ready to go. Made me nervous. I didn�t think they were leaving enough time between planes, but apparently my thoughts didn�t matter, and we took off directly after the plane in front of us. If you ask me (which no one did), we should have waited a good minute before taking off ourselves.

On the plane they played Harry Potter 3, so that was good. Then they played another not so fun movie, so I studied. I tried to sleep, but it didn�t work.
4 p.m. Montreal time (9 p.m. London time) landed in Montreal. Had to wait for four hours. That�s the most horrible place to be stuck. We had to stay in the departures area, and they was no place to eat dinner or have a coffee, just vending machines. The floors were tiled and the walls were cinder block. We felt like we were in an institution. It was horrible. And we were so very tired.

8:30 p.m. We finally got on the plane. Had been awake for over 20 hours. Very tired. The plane ride was crowded and cold. I was miserable. I was trying to sleep, but couldn�t. We landed in Winnipeg at 11:30. We finally got out of the airport at midnight, and decided to drive to Kenora so we wouldn�t have to start our trip out in a busy city in the morning. By the time we got to Kenora we had been awake for 26 hours. We slept for five hours, then headed out for our 6 hour drive home.

So, I�ve spent the rest of the week sleepy. However, I so want to go back. I had a great time.

Wow, that's one long nutshell!




previous next