indexolderguestbookprofileemail old news


2002-03-21 9:27 a.m.

Hey, it�s the first day of spring! So, why then, is the windchill at �33?

Yesterday, I had a meeting with my boss. She was sitting at her desk, which is piled high with papers and books, and I was standing leaning on the desk. She has one of those computer desks with the pre-cut hole in it for computer cords to go through. Well, she was talking and I was fiddling with things on her desk (I�m like a three-year-old that way, I�ve got to play with everything) and soon my attention was brought to this hole. I started to play with the black ring which is there to keep it smooth and neat, was my guess. Then I put my hand in the hole� It fit! Cool.

Well, it fit in, but I couldn�t get it out. My boss is still talking, and I�m stuck in her desk. The thoughts start to whirl in my mind. �What do I say to her if the time comes for me to go, and my arm is stuck in her desk?� �How the hell do I plan of getting out of this situation?� �How on earth does a 25-year-old get her arm stuck in her bosses desk?� The situation starts to become funnier and funnier� and I�m trying not to laugh. Still talking with my boss, I try to casually tug my arm out � I can�t make any big movements, because I don�t want my boss lady to know what�s going on. I twist and pull and hide my giggle. Finally my arm gets free and I feel relief flood over me� No embarrassing situation for Marla.

Then I find my arm is still uncomfortable, even in its new-found freedom. So, I go to rub it, and almost burst out laughing� The black ring designed to keep the hole smooth and nice looking was still on my arm� I just dislodged it from the hole! However, this situation is not as bad as the desk. At least with just the black ring on my arm, I can go elsewhere and get it off. I couldn�t see me dragging the desk to the washroom to put some hot water and soap on it! But, after prying and tugging, the ring finally came off and I slipped it back in place without any further mishap.

I went back to my office to laugh and tend to my bruised arm soon after!




previous next