indexolderguestbookprofileemail old news


2002-11-11 9:49 a.m.

Last Christmas, I took the bus home. It was a 20-hour long ride from Hell. I sat beside this girl who was so rude, it�s a miracle I didn�t punch her. She made it clear from the get go that she didn�t want me to sit with her, but there were no other seats available. She kept pushing me, and complaining, and �accidentally� kicking me. I spent the entire ride fuming. But, again this year, I was planning on taking the bus home. Why? I�m afraid to fly.

Ya, I�ve flown before. Several times. But, each time it�s been harder to do. I get so frightened that I can�t breath, I spend the whole flight gasping for air with that little fan above the seats turned on full so I can use it to force air down my throat when needed. Sad, I know. But unfortunately, it�s true. The take-off makes my want to cry, and the landing isn�t much better.

However, this year, my friend said she�d fly home with me, and in all reality, I�m not sure I could handle the 20-hours on the bus. Knowing my luck, I�d be with that girl again. So, okay, I�m flying home. I was better with this idea because the hour and a half to Toronto would go much faster if I had someone to play travel Battleship and Connect Four with.

Now, my friend is driving home. And, for very good reasons. I don�t blame her one bit. Her family lives in the middle of nowhere, and for two weeks without a car, that�d be hell too. So, I�m flying by myself. I�m extremely nervous about this. So, my question to all you knowledgeable Diarylanders is: Do I calm my over-active nerves with alcohol, of do I go to the Dr.�s and get me some tranquilizers?




previous next