indexolderguestbookprofileemail old news


2002-01-16 3:10 p.m.

I�m not so cranky anymore. This is good. I�m still tired, but I�m blaming that on violin guy. Have I told you about violin guy? He�s the man who lives above us and plays the violin. Problem is, he doesn�t play songs, just gibberish. It�s not even that he�s a bad player who plays Mary Had A Little Lamb poorly and repeatedly. No. He has talent, and plays very well, it�s just that he plays nothing. Sounds, that�s it. It�s annoying as hell! However, what�s worse, is the time he chooses to practice his umm� songs� Late, very late. And long. One night he started practicing at 11 p.m. and went until 1:30 a.m. ish. That was okay on a weekend. The other night he woke me up at 1:30 a.m. and I had to work the next day. Obviously this guy had Sue all worked up because she was standing in the hall with the broom in hand and a crazed look on her face and said, �Did he wake you up?� I swear her face twitched here �Because I�ll take care of it for you.� And with that, she banged the ceiling and looked up as if to say, �Ya, and what are you going to do about it.� However, the man stopped playing and Sue and I went back to sleep.

Speaking of Sue, sadly her grandmother passes away this week. She�s gone down home for the funeral and burial � a whopping 20-hour bus ride, poor girl. She�s sad, I think, but her grandma was 97, so lived a full life, and Sue recognized this. So, in honour of her grandma, I�ll close with one memory of her that I�ll always have�

Sue, Thelma and I were having a beer with Grandma in Sue�s backyard a number of years ago and I guess one beer has great effects on a (then) 92-year-old woman, because she was quite happy. Not drunk, but certainly on her way. We were all chatting, when she suddenly said quite loudly, �The world owes me money!� punctuated it with a smack of her bottle on the table, chugged the rest of it down and threw the bottle aside. Needless to say, we all had a good laugh and Sue�s grandma went down in our memory history books!




previous next