indexolderguestbookprofileemail old news


2002-04-03 12:52 p.m.

Wow? It?s all over. I just finished up with my first press conference I organized by myself (you know, by myself with lots of help from everyone else). It all went swimmingly in my eyes, and the eyes of the people involved in the conference (all five speakers and the guest of honour). The media all showed, the food arrived on time, there were lots in attendance. The one fault, and I suppose it?s mine in the long run because I should have never assumed that an email and follow up call would be enough to get my point across, was that after the event I got yelled at by a high-up person here for not letting her know what was going on. She was originally going to MC the event. Then it was up in the air. I spoke with her secretary and said I would find out what was going on and I?d let her know. So, I found out who was MC-ing the event (at the request of someone even higher up than she) and I email this:

?Our event has changed again. We will now be holding it on Wednesday, April 3. I've spoken with (my boss) and (big important person?s) office, and he feels we should get other staff involved, so it looks like we won't be needing (high up lady) to host the event. However, we would still love to have her in attendance.?

And I followed that email up with a call. But, according to lady, I didn?t let her know what was going on, didn?t invite her (which I did, I have the confirmed faxed invitation with personalized cover sheet right here) and I, in her exact words, ?should do my job better.? Needless to say, I was upset. And, she wasn?t just mad, she was livid. She was trembling with anger. I wanted to say, ?I did talk to (secretary) and confirmed it all.? But, I thought it best if I take it, and talk with my boss lady after. Turns out there?s a lot of politics involved here, and this is a normal reaction from that person. I feel a bit better, but I?m still a little upset.

However, I am happy the event went well otherwise.

~~~~~~~~

My apartment? Yay! I have one! It?s fantastic. It?s a small two-bedroom basement deal, but it?s close to work/school and boxing. Plus, turns out I know the landlord, and he?s a decent guy. I feel safe and happy with it. Plus, the washer and dryer are in my apartment. That?s right, IN it. No sharing. No waiting. And, I can fulfill my life-long dream of doing my laundry in the nude! I won?t ever have to wear the ?laundry-day? outfit anymore! Everyone has a laundry day outfit? You know, those clothing that you?d never, ever wear outside of the house for fear of ridicule, but you have to wear because you are so out of cloths? You know it?s time to do the wash when you have to pull out those orange spandex pants and the turquoise floral shirt!

Okay, all kidding aside, I?m very happy I have a place and that my big event is over! Yay!




previous next