indexolderguestbookprofileemail old news


2001-11-12 9:48 a.m.

Places not to live on Remembrance Day: right across the street from a park dedicated to war heros.

So, I�m snug in my bed pretty much sleeping, when all of a sudden I hear Thwap! Thwap! Thwap, wap, wap! Thwap! Thwap! Thwap, wap, wap! Then, the sounds of a youth band strike up. So, annoyed and confused, I get up and look out my window. Well, my road was blocked off by the cops and up marched a whole load of cadets, some attempting to be a musical band (they tried, they really did). I assume that I�m not going to be able to sleep through this, so I get up, go into the living room and look out to the park across the street, which was filled with hundreds of people awaiting the Remembrance Day service. April, who sleeps on our couch, looks up at me and says, �Is that a band?� I tell her yes. �Good. I was dreaming that I was trying to change the radio station and couldn�t.� Then, from the depth of her bedroom, Sue staggers out and says, �I was dreaming I was doing a native dance to some drum music, but then a band started up.�

So, with all of us awake, we went out onto the balcony in pajamas and coats with a cup of tea, and watched all the people. We felt really sorry for the ones in kilts� It was damn cold today! When they fired off the guns at 11 a.m., Sue, April and I almost dropped our cups of the balcony�We were somewhat taken by surprised!

Sue and I had some super fun on Saturday night. Sue had bought a soccer ball earlier Saturday, so at about midnight, we decided to go out to the park across the street and kick it around a bit. We first started by learning some techniques, as I�m not so good at soccer. Sue taught me how to hit the ball with my head � that�s way too much fun! We did that for a while, then I threw it at her head for a bit. Then we played for a while, with one in the make-shift net and the other, of course, kicking at it. Loads of fun at 12:30 a.m. We weren�t alone in the park. There were two other people who were playing frisbee. The cute guy came by and said, �It�s a weird night, isn�t it? We just had an urge to go out and play frisbee and I guess you two wanted to play soccer. Too cool.� And they left. Weird.

We then went on to prove how mature we are by finding the steepest hill in the park and rolling down it. That was way groovy! We even both went to the top, grabbed each others arms and rolled down the hill together, almost careening into a tree! It was a blast.

I highly recommend playing soccer and rolling down hills after midnight!




previous next