indexolderguestbookprofileemail old news


2003-02-10 10:49 a.m.

I was in charge of buying our office a coffee maker. The only specifications I had were that it should be black and make 10-12 cups. So, I bought us a shiny new coffee pot. Now, I have to test it. I just made a pot of coffee, and lo-and-behold, it could have won an award for �Worst Coffee Ever.� So, I�m making a new pot. The cool thing is, I�m testing all these pots of coffee� hyper anyone?

So, on to other topics: my roommate and my boyfriend (now if that doesn�t sound like a title for an adult film, I don�t know what is!). My roommate doesn�t like my boyfriend. I know this. I knew she wouldn�t from the get-go. Thing is, my roommate tends to not like people right away. But, what�s more, is that she thinks very, very negatively about people.

So, I knew she wouldn�t like my b/f. He is a bit odd. But then again, so am I. He treats me very well, he�s interesting, and I just plain like him. So, I planned on not having him around the house too much so as to keep her happy. But, I thought that I have the right to have him over once in a while. I probably shouldn�t have. My roommate reads into comments, my boyfriend likes to talk.

But, I think it's best for our friendship that she moved out, because she was getting to that way again when she didn't talk to me for a month (really, she didn�t talk to me for and wouldn't tell me why� apparently, I gave her a look... but, in response to my look she started rolling her eyes at me, it went from there...).

So, things were again going the way of the sour between her and I again (as with the look thing), but more importantly, she doesn't like the b/f and feels "personally at risk" with him around because of two comments and a look from him. The two comments she didn't like were... well, one wasn't a comment, he likes the movie Hannibal (or however you spell that). Now, colour me wrong, but don't a lot of people like that movie? Ya, he likes scary movies, big deal. Second point: he said to her as she picked up her Cell Bio text book, "Poor unsuspecting you." Now, that is a saying he says to everyone about anything. In the time that I've spend with him, he said that to me, to his roommate, to his cat and to someone on the TV. To her, he mean because of the Cell Biology. He has taken that course. He hated it. She took that as a threat.

Then, the look thing. Really, my roommate has a thing about looks. As I said earlier, for that month that she wasn't talking to me, it was due to a look I gave her. I do this look a lot, she said. I figured out what look it is: it's the look I get when I'm thinking, and also when I'm sleeping. I bring in my eyebrows, and then I look evil, I guess. I find it very insulting that she takes such issue with this look, but I�ve been ignoring it. Now, about my b/f, he often gives me a "Dr. Evil" look (one eye squinting, one eyebrow up and a drawn up mouth). I ruffled his hair, he gave me the Dr. Evil look, She took it as really evil. So, she tells me she's afraid of him and she's leaving. For the sake of our friendship, I didn't argue. Really, who wants to live in an uncomfortable situation? I don't. I'd rather be on my own than have her there unhappy. I was going to explain his look and his comments, but I didn't bother. She really doesn't want to hear it, and I don't want to hurt our friendship. So she left last night.

I'm really okay with that, I know her, and she's just being herself. I'd rather her move out and us still be friends. And, I know about people not liking other people's boyfriends. It's understandable, and honestly, I really didn't think she'd like him before all this. Another really close friend likes him a lot, so I know that I'm not just seeing him through rose-coloured glasses.




previous next