indexolderguestbookprofileemail old news


2002-11-29 2:57 p.m.

Standing out side the evil Wal-Mart, which was surprisingly non-evil last night, I breathed in the fresh air, and put my hands in my pocket to protect myself from the cold. Once my left hand was firmly shoved into the pocket I felt it � all at once, these sensations came � my keys, the cool mini-Swiss army knife my friend gave me for Christmas last year, the elastic I use to keep the knife together (broken), the blade of the mini-knife open, the knife slicing through each layer of skin. I swear, in a matter of moments, I felt in slow motion my skin peeling apart to form the half-inch long gash on my thumb. I pulled my hurt hand out and immediately covered it with a napkin I had in my other pocket. I held it tightly because I didn�t want the pain to come. It did, and so did the blood.

I bled so much. I was concerned. It wouldn�t stop bleeding as I stood there in that Wal-Mart parking lot. I felt woozy, but I think that was more from the lingering sensation of my skin tearing apart then the blood. I check it out, still bleeding. I had to do it, I had to go back into the store and try to find some help.

A nice lady in the fitting room area got me a band-aide, and I walked home. By the time I got home, it had stopped bleeding. But not before it soaked through my band-aide, and flowed over and under the edges, and covered my hand and sleeve with blood. While it was a bit gross to behold, I never thought my thumb would bleed that much.

Then it dawned on my: the beer and strong Caesar�s I had for dinner probably helped in the blood flow! Oops.




previous next