indexolderguestbookprofileemail old news


2002-05-14 12:06 p.m.

I�m too tired to deal with today.

I slept an eternity yesterday after work, and went to bed early last night. But I never felt rested. It was quasi sleep in which I could feel the fact that my arm was asleep, but I couldn�t control my body enough to roll over. I could feel the fact that I was so cold I was shivering, but I couldn�t get enough strength to pull a fourth blanket onto me. I think I was there, half sleeping, for over an hour wishing I could get another blanket, but not being able to. It was like a waking nightmare. When I finally woke up, I turned on my heater, and promptly blew a fuse. Nice start to my day.

Now I�m trying to finalize everything for a media event for a very important announcement, and since there are so many people involved, it seems I�ve made it to the bottom of the �list of people in charge� even thought the responsibility to get the media out falls to me. Seems to me that�s a pretty important job for a media event. But, no one is listening to me, and I�ve got a bunch of people being rude, so I think I may just crawl under my desk and cry. Okay, I won�t do that. But, I want to. I have the media all confirmed, so I guess I�ve done my job. But, I have suggestions to make to help this go along more smoothly, and I�m getting brushed aside. I know I�m young, and I know I�m inexperienced as a media relations person; however, I think my experience as a reporter (who, incidentally, has attended literally hundreds of media events) would qualify my suggestions as valid. Apparently, I�m wrong.

I�m glad the media in this town like me, and therefore at the event, they will come to me for information. I need to feel important today � everyone needs that once in a while.




previous next