indexolderguestbookprofileemail old news


2001-01-09 8:39:57

Well, I played with my layout ever so slightly. Okay, I just changed font and colour. But, I needed a change, however small. I don�t really know how this works, but I don�t think it�s going to be here for very long. I�m slowly (and by slowly, I mean a turtle would kick my ass) learning html (thanksSarah) and so I wanted to play a bit. I also added a notifier list and a guestbook. Please don�t make me look like a loser, and sign away. No, the reason for the guestbook is so people can let me know where they�re from and why they read this, the notifier is just that, I�m trying to keep up with my updating, but realize that people can�t rely on me to write everyday, but sometimes I want to write more than that, so this is for all the people who wish I�d make up my mind.

It�s still before 8 a.m. and I can�t believe how hyper I am. It�s a tired hyper � I could run a marathon or fall asleep on my keyboard. Right now it could go either way. I lie. I could never run a marathon. I�m not a runner, and what�s more, I have a bad knee and presently a broken toe (which is still causing me strife today). Sue�s been laughing her butt off at me the past couple of days. I�ve truly become Miss. Idiot! As you know, I stubbed my toe with painful consequences the day before last, then yesterday I whacked my head into my truck while trying to get in (no, I wasn�t paying any attention). The second thing which made me feel like an idiot was this:

I�m lying on the bed-ish thing at the chiropractor yesterday. We�re making that general chatter one makes when they don�t really know the other person, yet the silence would be awkward. Actually, I would have liked the silence, but I�d have fallen asleep. So, we�re chatting. Then he says to me, �What happened?� Umm, I didn�t know. So I said, �I don�t know, what??� �You�re head�s bleeding.� Oops. I was getting blood on his nice white paper which is on the head rest to keep it clean. So then I had to tell him what a dork I was. I was putting my bag and purse down on the floor, and on my way back up, I WHACKED (and I cap that to let you all get the true impact) my head into his x-ray light thing mounted on the wall. Caught the corner and all. There were several choice words I wanted to yell, but held it in so no one would realize what I did. However, I finally had to admit it to him, even though I really wanted to tell him that my head would occasionally spring a leak, I didn�t think he�d believe that.

So then, I get home, and I drop the apples (all of them. Two bags worth) all over the floor, spill my drink, and fall over a chair. So, Miss Idiot is appropriate. Then, Sue and I are out and I decided I want to kick that gross piece of snow/slush/dirt out from under my truck wheel. Umm, ow! It wasn�t slush. Ice. Yes. My big toe on my other foot is now kinda hurtin�. Sue think�s I�m getting all my 2001 injuries out of the way now. I hope so.

Now, on to other things (I get this feeling that I�m rabbling, have run-on sentences and make little sense in general, but as I�m not in the mood, I�m not going to read this over before I post. Okay? (gee, there�s the way to boost the notifier list)) Sarah, you asked about... hang on, let me read your phrasing... �I could get into the irresponsible journalism (if you could indeed call it journalism) on the part of Woman's World, but that's really more Marla's department,� saysSarah in her diary.

�Well Sarah,� I say, almost aloud (which would be embarrassing as my co-workers may question my sanity), �I�d have to call it irresponsible journalism too. I�d certainly be inclined, no, that�s not the right word, I�d feel obliged to put in the good points as well as the bad points. What you read sounds like an advertorial for the procedure, and I�m not an advocate for advertorials. I think it compromises everything a journalist should stand for. However, I think that there aren�t many ethical journalists left out there and that I was very lucky to have a professor who was very ethical. I�ve put myself on the line a couple of times because of ethics, and other reporters don�t really understand why. So, to make this long story longer, I agree with you. It is irresponsible, but more so because I�m sure they knew they should put the side effects in but didn�t. Sometimes makes me ashamed of my fellow professionals.�

And there ends that rant.

And, speaking of diets (yes, I was speaking about diets, go read Sarah�s entry) I was watching TV and nearly died laughing at this commercial. It was for some diet pill, let�s call it Diet Pill for simplicity�s sake (Okay, so I don�t remember what it�s called. By simplicity�s sake, I meant mine, not yours). They were showing people enjoying life because they�re thin and all that crap, and if people took Diet Pill they�d be able to lead normal, happy lives (like they aren�t now?). So the the lady announcer comes on and say, �With Diet Pill, regular exercise, and a controlled food diet, you will lose all that unwanted fat. Diet Pill, talk to your doctor about how to regain your life.� Now, this could be just me, but if we perhaps took the pill out of the equations, isn�t that also the way to lose weight? You know, regular exercise and a controlled food diet? Really, who�s money are they trying to con?

Oh, and there�s another commercial for Rags to Riches. This is a fantastic budgeting plan which will help you regain financial freedom. The family on the ad was in �dire� financial trouble. They were going to lose their car, their house. Oh! What were they to do? Then, they found this budgeting program, Rags To Riches, and all their money problems were solved! If you want to go from rags to riches, just send $39.95 plus shipping and handling to.... I�m not kidding. That�s a real ad. I�d like to find the people who sent the $40 and smack �em. Of course Rags to Riches provided these people with financial freedom, they get $39.95 every time someone buys it!

Okay, I�m done now. Sorry, I feel very verbal today (and notice how it�s about nothing important?).

Oh, and Sarah, Sam pics are coming soon. I promise. I couldn�t get into work this weekend due to snow storms � we got about 10 centimetres in a day and high winds � but you�ll have them before the week is out. If you don�t, I give you full permission to come over here and kick me.


previous next