indexolderguestbookprofileemail old news


2005-02-10 11:32 p.m.

I SO almost dropped the girl I work with who has Cerebral Palsy. Well, I didn�t almost drop her, but she almost slipped to the floor. She had to go to the ladies room, and I was transferring her back to her chair. There was a puddle of water on the floor and I slipped. My left leg flew back, and my right one slid into her chair. She started to slide down her chair to the floor. She�s not the lightest girl there is, and I knew if she ended on the floor, I wouldn�t be able to get her up again (it�s hard enough to lift her from one seat that�s lower than her wheelchair up to her chair, so it�s next to impossible from the floor � it would be dead weight). So, as she was sliding, I thought, �Marla, stop her and pick her up!� And out of somewhere, I found the strength to pull her into her chair.

I asked if she was alright, and she said �I�m fine, but how are you?� I said I was fine also, however, inside my head I was screaming. I managed to pull something nasty in my back, and my chin (which made hard contact with her chair) was bruising badly.

Thankfully, she really was fine. I was a bit (lot) nervous after that, but we still managed to go swimming � in a super cold pool. Seriously, I might as well have just drilled a hole in Lake Superior and swam there!

Seriously!




previous next