indexolderguestbookprofileemail old news


2001-11-27 2:27 p.m.

Okay, so the other day I was the official media contact/organizer at an event. Was my job to get them out and keep them in line� I mean organized� at a launch. And, I have to say, I did a great job!! Okay, it wasn�t that hard, but I did manage to get three media people out, which is almost all of them here in this city. The President was happy, that�s really all that matters.

While at this event, a professor came up to me and we were talking about the event. She asked for my card, which I proudly gave to her, and she introduced me to all her colleagues like I was someone really important. This made me nervous. I still consider myself a kid. I know I�m soon to be 25 and all, but really. Need she make me out to be so important? She said to one person (in her flowing British accent): �This is Marla. She�s the University�s Writer and Researcher. Marla, this is So-and-so, the Chair of Such and Such department.�

The Chair: �Oh hello Marla, it�s a pleasure to meet you. You�re new here at the University, are you not?�

Me: �Yes I am. It�s a pleasure to meet you.� I�m all sweetness and smiles, of course, the look I call my �Schmoozing� look, as I reserve it for occasions I am in the company of certain people (like politicians and professors).

I feel like an imposter at these events. I�m a kid. I want to say to people, �My hat has a pom-pom on it, I still get presents from Santa and I think it�s hilarious when my sister tries to burp the alphabet.� Really, how mature am I?


previous next