indexolderguestbookprofileemail old news


2002-06-12 1:01 p.m.

I don�t get this idea of starting new. I mean in the "I�m going to move and start things new" sense of it all. Moving and getting a new perspective on life, maybe. But, too many people think they can start life over again. You can�t. You can change things. You can make things better for yourself. But, all these things require you to start by fixing what�s wrong.

Start things new often seems to me like running away from the problems. Really, they follow you. They�ll get your new address and come visit when you least expect it. You�re new place will be messy. You won�t have time to sweep things under the rug and you�re old problems will mix in with your new ones.

You can't start new when your past will always be with you. It's who you are. You have to deal with that and embrace yourself.

If people are moving to get a change and not because they can�t deal with what�s going on in their lives, that�s great. I�ve done that myself. But, I have a feeling that often it�s to avoid things � things that really are a part of the person so cannot be avoided.

Maybe I�m wrong.

Maybe I don�t want a friend to go far away when perhaps all she needs is a hug and a shoulder.

Maybe I�m being selfish.

Maybe I need to run away too. But I know I�d be running from myself, and I�ll eventually catch up to me.

I don�t need a change in scenery, I need a hug.




previous next