indexolderguestbookprofileemail old news


2001-01-04 8:39:28

So, apparently, I talk in my sleep. Not just mumbling, but almost coherent sentences. Sue felt it necessary to impart this information to me between laughs. Can�t blame her, I laughed too when she told me. I don�t know what talking in your sleep means. Is it that you�re sleeping deeply, involved in a very realistic dream (I usually remember my dreams, but not on this night), or is it just one of those idiosyncrasies people have? Oh well, I don�t really feel I have any secrets I should be worried about blabbing in my slumbers.

So, the new book I�m reading is causing me a small problem. It has a character who was really once alive. This bugs me when people write a fictional story with a real person in it. It�s putting words into someone else�s mouth. How does this author, who never knew this person, think he knows what this person thought and felt. Granted, the person written about wrote a lot himself, but that still doesn�t make up for conversation and thought process. However, I really like this story line, so I�m refusing to truly acknowledge that this person is real. Which would be why I haven�t typed the name here, that would be admitting that this person was a live.

One story I read which had a once-living main character to it really, really bugged me. It was Stealing Heaven by Jane Urquhart. I love the author, and the story had some beautiful sentences, but the main character was Emily Bronte and the story referred a lot to Wuthering Heights. As Sarah may remember, I was never a big fan of that book when we were forced to read it in high school. I may like it now if I went back to it, but the memories are still leaving a sour taste on my tongue. So, if I didn�t like the original, how am I supposed to like the novel based on the novel with the author of the latter novel as the main character in the former (hmm, I think I got that straight).

So, if anyone has any book recommendations for me (and I welcome any) you now know what I don�t like. I do have a small line up of books I want to read after this one, but hey, I�m always looking for recommendations!


previous next