indexolderguestbookprofileemail old news


2002-07-05 12:19 p.m.

Well, with the way I�m feeling right now, a second entry is warranted today.

I feel awful. Not only is the pain in my lower back getting worse by the hour, I just got back from the chiropractor and his news wasn�t so nice.

Turns out, I may (and I stress may because we don�t know, but can�t ignore the possibility) have a potentially serious problem. He thinks one of my disks in my lower back is ready to hemorrhage, or tear or something painful and damaging like that. We may have caught it in time, but I have to be so super careful with my back. I have to watch how I bend over, how long I sit, what I carry� things like that. I have to get an MRI and see what's going on, but I may not be the boxer or jogger that I want to be. On Monday he and I are going to talk about the activity I can do, but this weekend I have to layoff everything, just in case it�s damaging. I'm very sad. But really, I can't sit for long, and in the evening I can't sit at all, and at night I can't sleep well because it's so aggravated from the day's worth of sitting I have to do at work.

I really don�t want to not box or jog. But, if taking it easy now means that I can still do it in the fall, then I will take it easy. I don�t want to ruin my whole life just because I want to jog now. That would be stupid of me.

We're hoping we're wrong about the disk, but it's a big probability. I also have a joint problem in my pelvic bone, but that's an easy fix.

I can�t believe I�m crying about this. It�s so not the end of the world. And, it can be fixed, so long as I don�t hurt it anymore. It�s just that the thought of this becoming permanent, which I may if I hurt it more (which would be easy now, he says), really upsets me.

What a crappy day this is turning out to be. I think I�m going to go home and sleep.




previous next